Day two

Still getting the hang of this.  I spent most of last night trying to decide what I could write about that would be, shall we say, less than incendiary.  Therefore I can’t discuss the hubby, the job or the parents.  (I’d like to keep all 3 from being mad at me.)  If I start talking about the current financial or political situation, that could cause World War 3.  I’m a little peeved at the Pope’s concept that non-Catholic means non-Christian, but I’ll leave that for another time. 

So let’s praise some people who deserve it.  Special needs teachers.  My son is 11 and autistic, and his diagnosis on December 1, 1999 opened the doors to a world I never knew existed.  Sure, I grew up on Staten Island, where Willowbrook Mental Institution was legendary, but once that was dismantled, who really thought about it except those poor, unfortunate folks who HAD to?  Well, on 12/1/99 we joined those ranks, and along the way I’ve met some unbelievable people.  From Alex’s kindergarten teacher (Catherine Havens) and every teacher along the way (Kristin Conley, Meredith Penner, Debbie Struck) and all his therapists and classroom paras (too many to mention, though they deserve a round of applause too) have displayed such enthusiasm, determination, and strength of spirit that I can only pray to have.  God picks out special people for special jobs.  He sure chose well when He picked Alex’s teachers.  I’m proud to call these ladies my friends. 

Leave a Reply

