Voices

Do you ever listen to those voices in your head?  I think as a society we’re trained not to trust our instincts like that, assuming those voices are “demons” that can get us into trouble.  Either that, or we’re afraid of mental illness and we assume those voices come from a part of us we don’t want to acknowledge.

This morning I heard a very clear voice telling me that I was going to get good news today.  Rather than get my hopes up, I filed that information away for later use and got myself ready to go to work.  When I came in, I found out the job interview that was scheduled for tomorrow got pushed up to today, and my manager told me he’s going to be out for the rest of the week.  I guess that’s good news.  Then my agent emailed me that one of my queries was turned down.  That’s not good news.  I’m still waiting for that nerve-rattling, cat-eating-canary-grinning, Holy Cr*p! good news to come along, because getting the interview out of the way and being self-regulated for 4 days doesn’t quite hit that mark. 

But like a good optimist, I’m still waiting.

It got me wondering about the concept of listening to one’s voices.  As a creative person, I talk to myself all the time, and in my head, I answer myself.  (My joke used to be that I was the only one who listened to me.)  But those voices also come from characters and stories.  I’ve lost track of the times I’ve been doing “something else” (dishes, laundry, driving, working) and heard a voice give me a clear line of dialogue or a tasty idea for a plot twist.  I have to write it down or it’ll make me insane.  For this purpose, I’m never more than three feet from a pen and a piece of paper. 

Those quiet, subliminal voices often have really great things to say if we let ourselves listen to them.  We just have to let ourselves trust them. 

One thought on “Voices

  1. It’s okay to talk to yourself. It’s okay to ask questions, and it’s okay to answer them. But if you find yourself asking, “Huh? What did you say?” then you may have a problem. 🙂

Leave a Reply

