Where now?

I wondered last night if I’ve used up every philosophical rant I’ve ever considered.  In order to keep this blog rolling, I may have to resort to gossip.  Either that or I need to drink more. 

I should probably shorten these things, too.  Last night’s blog seemed to go on forever.  I could’ve cut it down to just the first and last paragraph, and it would’ve been fine.  I’ve never been one to use 10 words when 100 will do just fine.  It’s what’s making the editing on “Release Point” so interesting.  I’ve decided to cut out one secondary character and integrate his role into another existing character.  They were originally two entirely different people; one was a wizened veteran, the other an Italian-American Brooklyn transplant.  They’d never even met each other, and now Skip and Tony are one, literally.  I never pictured Tony being philosophical and wise, but he’s going to have to figure it out the way I’m trying to do. 

There’s a few things going on lately that have tried to distract me from writing, and at times they succeeded really well, but now that we have the Shriners appointment out of the way, I can focus again.  I’m going to have Book #2 done and polished by June 15th and ready for the NJRW contest if it kills me.  As the saying goes, though, “What doesn’t kill me only makes me stronger.”  I have a feeling this will be no exception.

Leave a Reply

