Must Be Doing Something Right

It’s no secret that I love writing.  I don’t know how good I am at it (or not) but personally, I can’t imagine what anyone else in the world does that makes them as happy as writing makes me happy.  I hope there’s something.

I’m in a bit of a pickle.  I started Kara’s story at a time when I least had spare time.  I should be working on Release Point to get it polished and ready for the NJRW contest.  The deadline is June 15th, so I have just under two weeks to rewrite from page 43 to The End and put together a coherent synopsis.  I can’t even write the synopsis now because I don’t know how it’s going to end, since I have to recreate the ending so as to sufficiently torture Paul when he figures out who framed him and then exact his revenge AND get back into baseball without losing the true love of his life.  That didn’t happen on the first go-around, and I know how to do it, it’s just a matter of applying myself. 

Kara’s story has taken over.  I wrote 10 single-spaced pages last night, just because I couldn’t walk away from it.  I was on the computer from 3:30 to 10:45 with short breaks for dinner and exercising.  (Bless her heart, writing for Kara makes me want to walk in her shoes, so I tell myself I’m “in training”.  It’s kept my hands off the Tastykakes, folks, so I’m going with it.)  I turn on the iPod and I hear something else that would fit well for her.  I haven’t even created a playlist for her; her story covers such a long period of time that I don’t want to stick to just one era or style of music.  She has varied tastes that change as she grows up.  I’m crazy about this girl.

Yesterday I read Anne Stuart’s blog (posted last week) and she’s in a similar dilemma.  She has two stories in mind that she wants to write, one on a deadine, one from the heart, and she’s not sure where to start or which one should take precedence.  All I can say is, if I’m having the same problems as Anne Stuart, I must be doing something right.  🙂 

Leave a Reply

