One Foot in Front of the Other

Well, it happened.  I figured out Paul’s motivation when I went to take a walk yesterday at lunch.  I love brainstorming as I’m walking—something about the increased circulation must put more oxygen in my brain—except when I don’t think to bring a pen and paper with me, but that’s okay.  I spent the next 20 minutes circling the building’s corridors, mentally reminding myself what it was I needed to do the moment I got back to my desk.  (Next time I’m going to take April Kihlstrom’s advice and keep an index card and pencil in my pocket.  I keep a notepad in my purse but I don’t take my purse with me when I walk.)  As soon as I was in front of the computer again, I wrote my ideas down a few times, just to be sure they were tattooed into my brain.  By the time I was done, my arms hurt from typing nonstop for almost an hour.  Oh happy me!

I posted a new excerpt.  I think this time I can make it work, though my mom says she’s not sure she can like Paul if he knowingly took a banned substance.  Believe me, he didn’t do it because he wanted to.  On the other hand, that made me realize that most of my heros start out as jerks.  The archetype book calls them “bad boys”, but in essence, they’re hard to like. 

When I took the boys to see “Lilo & Stitch”, I spent the first half of the movie asking myself, “Why am I supposed to like this character?  He has no redeeming qualities.”  He blows things up and destroys property; that’s not the mark of a hero.  At the end, however, he proved he can be good, even if it takes a little extra effort on his part.  That, I hope, is what my heros can achieve, especially since they have some kick-ass, awesome heroines standing beside them, pointing the way onward and upward!

Leave a Reply

