The savage beast

If I were writing erotica, that title would have an entirely different meaning.  🙂  My friend Steph writes erotica and blogged about it yesterday.  She’s pretty cool and has an amazing command of the language.  If you’re interested, check out www.stephaniejulian.com

I haven’t posted in a few days.  I was trying to get my head back together after a little emotional turmoil.  It’s not over yet, but it’s fading.  They say time heals all wounds.  I don’t think so.  I think it just makes the wounds easier to live with.  They never really go away, even when you can accept them.  It’s kinda like a tattoo you wish you’d given more thought to. 

I haven’t written a word of fiction since Sunday, since I got my NJRW entry in and then gave myself the night off.  It turned into four nights off, until yesterday.  I wasn’t feeling all that great; the boys were both home and together, which of course meant noise.  I sat looking at my Favorites, wondering what else I could read to keep myself from thinking too hard, when it occurred to me that maybe the reason I wasn’t feeling so hot was because I’d gone a few days without listening to music.  (It didn’t help that my iPod was out of charge.  I still don’t know how that happened; I hadn’t turned it on since I got back from NJ on Sunday.)  I charged up the Pod and put on the headphones and chose the Playlist for “Release Point”, all the songs that I heard while I was working on the story–and since–that made me stop and think, “Oooh, that fits Grace/Paul/the scene where…”  Fifty-something songs in all.  Probably the most fun you can have with your clothes on.  Some of those songs really made me feel like I was in the scene as I was writing it.  Once in a while I’d hear the song and work on the scene but the song would end before the scene was over, so I’d put the song on “repeat” and get back to work.  I’ve heard Kelly Clarkson’s “Because of You” at least a hundred times and I’m still not tired of it. 

Anyway, I put the playlist on and opened an online jigsaw puzzle, but something about hearing the familiar music kicked me where I badly needed to be kicked.  I heard that inner voice again, telling me “You have to keep working on this.”  So I did.  I shut down the puzzle–and thank God; those things are addicting!–and opened the manuscript and started reading again.  Then I started writing.  I added a page before I had to stop and get dinner started.  It made me feel human. 

Music truly do hath charms to soothe the savage beast.  (Yes, I know it’s actually “breast” but I like my version better so I’m claiming poetic license.)  I need to turn on the music and escape myself more often. 

Leave a Reply

