Day Four

Day four:  weight gained, 1 pound.  Total weight lost, 4.2 pounds.  It’s not my fault.  I did everything right, even resisting the massive “sweet” craving I endured when I came home last night, but I made turkey chili with peppers, bella mushrooms, black olives, onions, tomato sauce and a few slices of pepperoni.  I guess it was the 3 (small!) bowls I ate that did it.  I have a feeling that with careful food selection and exercise, I can balance that out before the weekend is over. 

Going back to my insane rant on the price of gas and then my complaint that ethanol is to blame (“By a Thread”), CNNMoney.com ran this article today:  http://money.cnn.com/2008/06/27/news/economy/ethanol_food_prices/index.htm  I’m not saying I was right or wrong, I’m just saying the article is there to read (because the article states both pros and cons.)  I’m also leaving the whole FarmAid issue alone.  Do what you gotta do.

I made more progress on the story last night.  I think Paul and Grace are turning into friends.  She let her guard down, and she knows he knows about her past.  The only problem is, from here, I’m pretty much erasing what I had and I’m starting all over again.  On the other hand, it’s kind of fun.  My writing voice has changed considerably from when I first started writing this MS 3 years ago.  I like it better now.  The way it was then reminds me of the way I wrote when I was in high school.  (Very character-centered but in a going-through-life-with-blinders-on kind of way.)  My mom used to believe that everyone should be a parent before they become a teacher.  (She taught first grade after being an at-home mom for {cough, cough} years.)  I’m starting to think that no one should write before they’re 40.  Otherwise they might not have experienced life enough to get an idea of what’s really out there.  At my age, I still have plenty of the idealism that I had “way back when”, but it’s tempered by my time in the real world.  If I know more now than I did when I was 30, I hate to think how much more I might know when I’m 70.  If this blog is any indication, I won’t be afraid to tell everyone, too.  I’m going to be one of those boring old ladies who makes their grandkids yawn to death by telling them what life was like fifty years ago.  Back in the day before VCRs and cell Phones.  (Did I ever tell the story about how I tried to call TicketMaster for Bruce Springsteen tickets while dialing on a rotary phone?  Hey, it’s all we had.  Needless to say, I still haven’t seen Bruce in concert.)

The odd thing is, I still wish I’d paid more attention to my grandparents’ lectures.  They had so much more to tell me than I listened to.  My loss.

2 thoughts on “Day Four

  1. No worries about the weight gain. Your body is funny with weight loss. You can do everything completely right and you’ll still end up putting some on.

Leave a Reply

