And the beat goes on

The first offer of $180K was met with a counter-offer of $195K.  They’re insane.  Our first choice house went for $190K with a better back yard view, bigger kitchen, and bigger yard.  As a friend asked me, “Did they smoke their lunch?”  I’m so frustrated, I’m back to hoping they turn down the offer, just because I don’t want to give them the satisfaction, but instead we counter-offered $185K (the additional $5K being in the down payment, coming out of our nest egg, so the principle doesn’t change) and that’s our final offer.  At this point we only want a yes or no answer.  It’s not like we’re asking for the world.  We don’t want a seller’s assist, we don’t want help paying for the closing costs; just sell us the house and move out.  If they think we’d pay $5K more for our second choice, they’re certifiable.  If they think they can get more than $185K, I’d like to remind them that the house has been on the market for 4 months and they’ve already found a house they want to buy, so good luck in selling their house because for $195K, we’re not buying.  Remember, it IS a buyer’s market, at least this week.

NJRW posted the contest finalists on their website:  http://www.njromancewriters.org/contest.asp  It’s nice to know I wasn’t just imagining it or hallucinating.  We know the air filters in the office haven’t been replaced since the Reagan administration, so anything’s possible, but imagining that I’d finaled, fortunately, wasn’t just a dream.  Trying to dream up what I’m going to wear, however, may be a nightmare.  The conference coordinator said she’s implementing a rule that no contestant can look better than she does, but I told her, I don’t think that’s going to be a problem here.  🙂

Where has this week gone?  It’s Wednesday already.  This time next week, I may be standing on Hoover Dam.  I could use some good news.  Anybody got any to share?

Leave a Reply

