No News is No News

Well, I can’t entirely say there’s no news.  Our $185K counter-offer was met with a $193K counter-offer.  We thought about it a lot, I cried about it a little, our poor real estate agent (bless her heart) tried to crunch the numbers so we could manage it, but I just don’t see how it’s going to work.  Aside from that, when I said “Final Offer” I meant “Final Offer”, and anything else is me going back on my word, and I don’t do that.  I hate having to go back to square one, but I really don’t think they’re going to get an offer better than ours between now and when we get back from vacation, and if they do, more power to them. 

Aside from that, one of our earlier houses (that we’d ruled out when High Street and Caroline Drive came into view) suddenly doesn’t look so bad anymore.  (Nice back yard, 2 bathrooms; parking is an issue but maybe one we can live with)  As if Fate wanted its say, the price was just reduced yesterday too.  Our Plan C house would cost $24,000 less in principle and $200 less per month.  We’re hoping to schedule a meet-the-parents view the week after we get back, if it’s still available.  If not, well, back to Square One. 

John was getting a little anxious that we’re not going to get a better place, and he was almost willing to take the $193K offer.  As for me, I can’t justify paying more for our 2nd choice when it had less to offer.  I just think the sellers are either greedy, overextended (maybe they’re buying a house where they need every penny from the sale to apply to the new place), or insane.  Either way, when they come back to Planet Earth, we’ll talk.  Until then, enjoy your delusions of grandeur while you still can.

One thought on “No News is No News

  1. Good for you for sticking to your guns. Don’t let anyone talk you into spending more than you think you can afford!

    This is a buyer’s market, so there’s no reason you can’t get what you want at a price you can live with for the next 30 years!

    Good luck with door #3!

Leave a Reply

