Back to School

(For those looking for my post on Baseball 101, check the archives under August 26th.) 

Ah, how many of us have waited all summer for those three little words, and all the joy that comes with them. 

Actually, not me.  While summer meant longer days at the office because the boys were at camp ’til 5, it also meant the boys were having fun and I could trust that they were in good hands while they were enjoying themselves.  (Okay, so Ryan grumbled through the whole thing.  What doesn’t a 13 year old grumble through?)  I came home later but I pretty much took the summer off from exercising…and you can see that if you stand behind me.  Summer meant I just didn’t have the time.  I got up at 5:30, was at work ’til 4:30, picked the boys up, ran home to make dinner, and plunked down in front of the computer for a few hours while trying to rewrite Release Point.  Now that I have no more excuses, it’s back to the sweatshop for me.  I’m not excited about that prospect, but if I can get my endorphins back and kick my inspiration into high gear, so much the better.  It’s just not a fun thing to do.

Release Point is rewritten and just needs one more read-through to be sure the T’s are crossed and I’s are dotted.  I can spend my spare time–what there is of it–on Worlds Apart, but there’s no rush.  It doesn’t have to be anywhere at an appointed time.  I have the laptop of my dreams, even if Vista is giving me hives.  (I need to take the tutorial, if I can find it.  When it shuts down entirely, when all I did was close the lid…?  Eeek!)  I leave work at 2:30, meet Alex’s bus, and finish out the afternoon at home until about 5, when I can squeeze in a workout before putting the boys’ dinner together.  John will be back at the gym, so we don’t need to eat ’til 7 at the earliest.  For all outward appearances, things slow down.  You’d think I’d be excited at that prospect, but I’m not.

Bus schedules (which are already FUBAR), teacher meetings, conferences, Open Houses, half days.  It’s all coming back to me now.  My Outlook calendar will start filling up, and already I’ve got a conflict.  (The Autism Support Group meeting and both boys’ Open Houses are on the same day.)  I didn’t have this problem in summer. 

At the same time, summer is over.  Baseball is winding down and the playoff chase is heating up, as is The Chase in NASCAR.  Football starts this Sunday.  Before you know it, there’ll be frost on the pumpkin.  We don’t even have a pumpkin.  My tomatoes are still just barely turning red.  I caught myself thinking about Christmas presents last night.  (If I don’t start knitting/crocheting now, they won’t be done in time.)  Where did this year go?  Two-thirds of the way through it, and I feel like there’s so much more to get done, and the onset of school only hastens things.  I really lose track of time once there are more demands on my time. 

But like they said in The Lion King, it’s all just a part of the circle of life.  So why do I hear mean old Uncle Scar laughing in the background?

Leave a Reply

