RNC

I’m curious to know what you thought of McCain’s speech last night.  I read the transcript of Palin’s speech on Wednesday; maybe she’s better live than in writing but I thought it was okay but nothing that would’ve convinced me to vote for her.  After last night, though, I’m really, really afraid of what might happen to this country if McCain gets elected.  Did you notice the people in the audience?  I’d bet my next paycheck that there wasn’t a single person in the crowd (except for the protesters) that makes less than $150K per year.  Either that or they were trust-fund babies.  (Maybe not all, but I’d bet a vast majority.)  I’m pretty sure no one there was too worried about where their next meal was coming from.  Every time McCain said “you” to the crowd (as in, “I’ll fight for you”), I got the feeling he was talking to the corporate America “you”, not the middle-class slave wage “you”.  He’ll probably do some great things for corporate America “you”.  

 

I read an analysis of Obama’s statement regarding McCain’s supposed tax cut not affecting over 100 million people, and it turns out, Obama was right.  McCain’s idea of a tax cut is to give a tax break to people who buy private health insurance.  AND he’ll remove the tax break from people who get their insurance through their employer.  That way it looks like you’re getting a $2500 to $5K tax break for buying your own insurance, except the insurance is going to cost WAY more than $5K per year, and people like Ryan and I can’t get private health insurance because with asthma and hip dysplasia, no insurance company will touch us.  So we’d have to keep our work-offered health insurance and the money we spend on it would be taxable income.  That helps employers because a lot of people would opt out of the company insurance plan, but it would also tax those of us that don’t.  It’s like being taxed for having a chronic illness. 

 

John read some stuff on the internet (which, granted, isn’t always true) about Cindy McCain while I watched the speech.  It seems John met Cindy when he was still married to Carol McCain.  Hmmm.  (Do I trust a man who could do that?  I wouldn’t even DATE a man who would do that.)  I wondered why Cindy looked so young; she’s 17 years younger than John.  She’s also the daughter of the founder of Anheuser-Busch, and she was instrumental in selling Busch to a Belgian company.  She has step-siblings from her parents’ remarriage but she doesn’t acknowledge them and calls herself an “only child”.  She was also connected to the Keating scandal.  When someone asked her how many houses she and John own, she said that’s none of anyone else’s business what they do with her father’s holdings.  (They have 7 houses, BTW.)  Apparently she has a thing for “rhinestone” brooches, but on Wednesday her outfit (clothes and jewelry) was worth over $300K.  Methinks this is someone who’s never been in touch with blue-collar America, and would have no idea what the average Joe’s daily life is like.  

 

What I found really scary was what McCain had to say about Bush:  I’m grateful to the president of the United States for leading us in these dark days following the worst attack in American history.  The worst attack on American soil in our history and keeping us safe from another attack that many — many thought was inevitable.  In my opinion, Bush led us into those dark days and we haven’t gotten out yet.  And did McCain forget that this war he’s so in favor of is in the wrong country; there were no WMDs and to date there still is no connection between Al Qaeda and Iraq.  Of course, Al Qaeda is there NOW, trying to get the American forces out.  

 

I might not mind McCain so much except for his arrogance.  He’s decided what’s right and he’s going to act on it.  Sure, there are claims that Obama hesitates, that he asks people who might know the situation a little better before he reaches a conclusion, but that’s what they’re there for; they’re called consultants.  If you don’t know much about foreign policy, bring an expert on board (Joe Biden ); he knows it like the back of his hand.  It’s not about being smarter; it’s about knowing who’s smarter and getting their view on things before making a decision that’s going to affect millions of people for years to come.  

 

I’m not afraid of Obama.  I think he’s smart, quick-witted and thoughtful.  He impresses me, and I trust him.  He might not have experience but he has the will and the energy to effect real change.  McCain, on the other hand, is old school, which can be good at times, but not after 4 years of George W.  I seriously fear that with McCain, we’ll be getting 4 more years of the same, and if that’s what we get, then I really, REALLY am afraid for our future. 

One thought on “RNC

Leave a Reply

