All I Want for Christmas

I can’t say I have a Christmas Wish list for myself this year.  The down side is that it makes me impossible to buy for.  Poor John.  I know he’s been trying to come up with ideas, but even when I try to tell him what I want, I don’t really know.  But in my mind, that’s a good thing.  Not wanting anything for Christmas, to me, means I already have what I need. 

I have a warm, secure home for me and my family.  After 8 years, my sons have separate rooms again.  I’d like Alex’s room to be a little bigger, but what he has now is good enough for him.  (He’s not a demanding kid.  Guess he gets that from me.) 

I have more yarn than most local yarn stores.  Of course, now that I’ve turned into an anti-acrylic Yarn Snob, this could pose a conflict, but I’ll make nice afghans with the acrylic yarn I have left.  (Afghans are WAY too expensive for natural fibers.) 

I have my health.  Those who know about my non-appendicitis attack on Saturday will know how important that is.  Those who don’t have their health will also appreciate it. 

My extended family is all happy and healthy and in a safe, warm place.  A few of us are bitching about what we have to get done for Christmas, but really, we enjoy every minute of it.  I know lots of people who say, “I can’t wait ’til Christmas is over.”  I said that once, and lo and behold, it was over and I felt like I missed it from all the stressing out.  I’ll never ever say that again. 

We have a refrigerator full of wonderful food for dinner tonight, tomorrow, and Saturday.  (I’m taking Friday off from cooking.)  Tonight it’s seafood and rice balls.  Tomorrow it’s a gorgeous ham with an orange juice and brown sugar glaze, spiked with cloves and maybe some garlic.  I”ve fallen madly in love with fresh garlic.  Saturday I’m trying out roast pork a l’orange, if I can make myself go into the Spirits Store for Cointreau and Madeira.  (It’s a madhouse in there right now.)  I’m also grateful for my working dishwasher.

I have the most gorgeous niece in the world, and she’s bright, happy, and not autistic.  🙂  God willing, she stays that way. 

I have a job.  I bitch about that too (they’ve decided to freeze our salaries next year and stop contributing to our 401K’s and lower the cap on our banked vacation time) but they flex with my schedule and so far they seem to want to keep me around.  (They believe I know what I’m doing.  Is to laugh.)  I also have a really cool manager who understands my situation.  He has a great sense of humor.  It took me a few years to get used to him but now I think we know each other well.  I really like working with him, and he’s a good guy and a good manager.  It’s not easy to find both in one person.

The Phillies won the World Series.  What more is there to want (sports-wise) when you have that?  I know John’s wishing for a Bills SuperBowl, but, well, maybe next year. 

I have stories in my head.  Even though I haven’t had the time to devote to them, not having stories in my head is WAY worse. 

Of course, I do have a short wish list that only I can provide for myself:  an agent and/or a publishing contract.  I came close in 2008.  Let’s see what 2009 has in store.  Considering all the wonderful things that happened for us in 2008, I’m frightened to ask if 2009 can be better, but as the saying goes, “Ah but a man’s reach should exceed his grasp, or what’s a Heaven for?” 

Blessed Christmas to all!

Leave a Reply

