5 Best Things about Friday

I originally had another subject in mind, but it slipped away when I remembered today is Friday.  My most favorite day of the week.  Here’s why.

1.  Friday afternoon, when I get out of work, the weekend has SO much potential for fun and productivity (depending on what you have planned).  It’s a glorious blank slate, just waiting for me to paint some bright colored yarn across it.  For just a few hours, I know I have the next two days to do (or get done) what I will.  Unless, of course, it involves driving for an hour or more.   Then…ugh.  But a bad day of shopping still beats a good day at the office.

2.  Sleeping in on Saturday and/or Sunday.  Rolling over and looking at the clock at 5:30 and saying “Bite me,” then curling back under the covers.  (Turning off the alarm on Friday morning is a glorious ritual for me.  Because it’s a total b*tch if I forget and the stupid alarm goes off at 5:30 on Saturday anyway.) 

3.  Chaps Taproom only serves lobster bisque on Friday and Saturday.  Lobster bisque is proof that God loves us and wants us to eat seafood.

4.  Wishing everyone at work a good weekend.  Unless it’s month- or quarter-end, everyone’s in a good mood on Friday.  Today is the day we’ve been working 4 days to get to. 

5.  Picking up the boys on Friday afternoon.  Just like us, they’re deliriously  happy to be out of school and eager to get to the weekend.  They smile and laugh, and sometimes they even talk to me.  Trying to pry a conversation out of a 13 year old is like trying to herd feral cats, but on Friday nights (and especially if we’re on the road to NJ and visitation), sometimes Ryan tells me all about the book he’s reading in school and how he feels about the characters.  Inside that 13 year old brain is an adult getting ready to spring forth into the world, and once a week, I get to visit with that adult before he retreats back into his shell on Monday.  It doesn’t get much better than that. 

And there’s also the mocha I get at McD’s while we’re waiting for Phil to show up.  At the end of a long week and there’s still driving on the turnpike to be tackled, Caffeine is Life.  Happy Friday, everyone!

Leave a Reply

