5 Great Things about Mocha Lattes

I have to confess, I was never a coffee person until last August when John and I were in Las Vegas.  I’m not even sure how it happened or why.  One morning John was on his way to Starbucks for his morning cuppa, and I asked for a cappucino.  He’d told me long before that they were full of sugar and bad for our low-sugar diets–he’d treat himself to one once in a while–but I was on vacation, darnit, and I wanted to try it.  Turns out, it’s not my thing; too much bitter, coffee taste, or in my terms, not sweet enough.  

The next day, I asked for something sweeter and chocolatey, “like hot chocolate only coffee-flavored”, so he brought me a mocha.  I fell madly in love.  Ever since then, mocha lattes are my favorite treat, maybe even more than chocolate itself.  (Yes, Laura, I’m biting my tongue.)  Starbucks’ mochas are wonderful–I asked for a Starbucks gift card for Christmas and got it; there’s still a few more $$s left on it–but McDonald’s McCafe mochas are The Bomb.  I get one on Fridays when I bring the boys to NJ for visitation, and it’s a treat that almost balances out having to spend more than 2 seconds facing my ex husband.  Almost

Last night I was dead tired and strung out from a long day at work, but I was desperate to add to my WIP, so I made a cup of mocha (General Foods Reduced-Sugar variety; not bad, but not THAT low in sugar either) and got to work, and by 10 I was drained but I’d also written 6 more pages.  I’ll keep this story moving, or I’ll die trying.

So here’s 5 reasons why mocha/coffee is a good thing:

1.  Caffeine.  Come on, could anything else be at the top of the list?  Caffeine and I have a love/hate relationship.  I get inspired on the drives home from NJ, but I also break out like a teenager the day after.  It’s worth it.

2.  Caffeine.  It’s worth repeating.

3.  I can’t speak for the non-flavored varieties but McDonald’s mocha is the true nectar of the gods.  From the rich whipped cream topped with some amazing dark chocolate drizzle (remember to lick the lid; you’ll thank me later) to the creamy mocha itself, it’s a reminder that life is indeed good. 

4.  Thermal value.  When the house is cold, hot coffee is a good thing.  A wake-up and a warm-up all in one.  Go hug your mug. 

5.  Community.  I realize that logistically speaking, more people in the world drink tea than coffee, and I do also drink green tea, but there’s something to be said for the smell of Starbucks, hanging out with friends, swapping stories (or plot ideas!) and laughing.  Ever since I started drinking mocha, I feel like I belong in the world.

One thought on “5 Great Things about Mocha Lattes

  1. I don’t think I can function without caffeine!

    I get sooooooooo much more written when I go to my local coffee shop than when I’m sitting at home. I think it’s the lack of laundry plus all the caffeine fumes…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

