5 Favorite Words

I’ve been holding on to this one for a while, for when the day came that I couldn’t thing of a single thing to blog about.  Today’s the day.

Being a writer (or wanting to be one, anyway), you kind of have to love words.  I know writers who love stories or scenes or ideas, but personally, I love words.  I love the way they fit together to become a wonderful, coherent whole.  I love the feelings they create.  Sometimes I just love the sound of certain words.

Anyway, over the weekend, a friend came to visit, and he dropped a word I haven’t heard in a long while.  The first time I heard it was in high school English class, and it stuck with me then.  I think I’ve used it myself once in a while, when the boys don’t want to get out of bed and get ready for school.  Hearing that word reminded me that I’m sure I can come up with 4 other “fun” words and make a blog out of it.  If nothing else, using one of these 5 words could make you sound smarter than the average bear.  🙂

1.  Recalcitrant:   obstinately defiant of authority or restraint; 2 a: difficult to manage or operate b: not responsive to treatment c: resistant  (have you met my teenager?  BTW, thanks, Kurt!)

2.  Epiphany:   an appearance or manifestation especially of a divine being; 3 a (1): a usually sudden manifestation or perception of the essential nature or meaning of something (2): an intuitive grasp of reality through something (as an event) usually simple and striking (3): an illuminating discovery, realization, or disclosure b: a revealing scene or moment (if you write and you’ve never had an epiphany about the story in front of you, you’ve never really written)

3.  Ebullient:   having or showing liveliness and enthusiasm (some day someone will describe me as ebullient, and then I’ll have done what I wanted to do in this world; in the mean time, just call me Eeyore)

4.  Obstreperous:   marked by unruly or aggressive noisiness : clamorous <obstreperous merriment> 2 : stubbornly resistant to control (I worked for a woman–probably one of my all-time favorite bosses–who used this word on a colleague of hers whenever he made noise at his desk.  Every time I remember this word, I think of Pat and I smile.)

5.  Heroic:   exhibiting or marked by courage and daring; b: supremely noble or self-sacrificing(Okay, so I ran out of words at 4, but I know someone with this tattooed on her ankle and I still think it’s a wonderful word.  It also encompasses the character I plan to work on today, if time allows.)

With all due gratitude to Merriam-Webster’s Online Dictionary.

Leave a Reply

