5 Great Things about Days Off

Which then goes without saying, I’m enjoying one right now.  Aside from the obvious…oh heck, these are all probably obvious too. 

1.  Sleeping in.  I didn’t lift my head from the pillow ’til 6:40.  An hour of extra sleep.  Yay!

2.  Catching up.  I swear, I get more done in a day off than I do at the office.  It’s only 9:30 but I’ve baked 2 batches of cookies (they were ready-to-bake; so sue me), made breakfast, packed my vitamins for next week, folded 2 loads of laundry, checked work and personal email, and downloaded 3 videos to YouTube.  If I were at work, by now, all I’d have done is checked email, gotten a cup of tea, and chatted with a co-worker. 

3.  Checking work email.  Impresses the daylights out of the boss (I hope) when he knows I’m not in, but I’m still “in”.  (And then it’s up to me, depending on how much work I get done, if I want to call it a vacation day or a work-remote day.  It could go either way.)

4.  I can do whatever I want to do.  I didn’t have to fold the laundry or make the cookies; I could’ve watched TV and knitted ’til my fingers ached.  The choice is mine.

5.  Knowing there’s still a weekend ahead to enjoy.  Once I get done what I have to do, the rest of the time is ALL ME, baby.  🙂 

There is definitely writing to be done with my time off.  I sat down with 1/2 an hour to spare before the autism support group meeting and wrote 2 pages.  Imagine what I could do with an hour or two! 

Have a happy weekend!

One thought on “5 Great Things about Days Off

Leave a Reply

