Still Here

Today I seem to be at even keel again.  I suppose that’s a good thing; I’m neither so far down in the dumps that I’d need a backhoe to see daylight again, nor so high that I would show up on NORAD radar.  It’s kinda boring but I’ll take it.

I’m tempted to “borrow” more bad jokes, but I’m afraid one of these days I’m going to tick someone off.  I do give credit where credit is due, but not everyone likes to have their info posted on a stranger’s blog.  Or sometimes even a friend’s.  ‘Nuf said.

So rather than risk offending someone, I thought I’d share my latest UFO (unfinished object, a phrase usually used in reference to crafts, as opposed to WIP, which means “work in progress”, a phrase that refers to unfinished writing projects;  procrastinators unite!…one of these days).  I love that this works up so fast, but more than that, I love that I can use this on my overflowing yarn stash to try to put some of it to use.  I unraveled (frogged) two started-but-never-finished afghans to incorporate the yarn into this project, and I love how it’s coming out.  It’s in purple, brown, and a variegated that has purple and brown in it.  I made it a few stitches wider than the pattern says by adding multiples of 3 to the 67 chain stitches it starts with.  It stinks when you roll over and find parts exposed to the cool air when you’re trying to get warm.   I have about 3 feet of it done already and I curled up under it last night while watching a movie, and let me tell you, it is COZY.

Pattern courtesy of LionBrand.com:

5 1/2 hour Afghan
5 1/2 hour Afghan

5 1/2 Hour Throw

Lion Brand® Vanna’s Choice®

GAUGE:

3 V-sts + 4 rows = 6 in. (15 cm) in pattern with 3 strands of yarn held together. BE SURE TO CHECK YOUR GAUGE. When you match the gauge in a pattern, your project will be the size specified in the pattern and the materials specified in the pattern will be sufficient. If it takes you fewer stitches and rows to make a 4 in. [10 cm] square, try using a smaller size hook or needles; if more stitches and rows, try a larger size hook or needles.

NOTES:

Throw is worked with 1 strand of each color yarn held together.

THROW
With 1 strand each of A, B and C held together, ch 67.
Row 1: Dc in 5th ch from hook, ch 1, dc in same ch (V-st made), *sk 2 ch, (dc, ch 1, dc) in next ch (V-st made); repeat from * to last 2 ch, sk 1 ch, dc in last ch.
Rows 2–39: Ch 3, turn, (dc, ch 1, dc) in each ch-1 space across, dc in 3rd ch of turning ch.
Fasten off.

FINISHING
Side Edging
From Right Side, work 1 row of single crochet evenly spaced on side edge of Throw. Repeat on opposite side edge.
Weave in ends.

Fringe
Wrap yarn around cardboard. Cut strands at one end. For each Fringe, hold 3 strands of each yarn (9 strands total) together and fold in half. Use crochet hook to draw fold through edge of piece, forming a loop. Pull ends of Fringe through this loop and tighten. Make Fringe along both ends of Throw. Trim fringe evenly.

 

Leave a Reply

