In Case You Wanted to Get Me Something…

Thanks to a very well timed early Christmas gift (thanks, Mom and Dad!) I have the option to do some of my Christmas shopping early this year. Not that I hadn’t already started, but this definitely opened my options up considerably. I had a few things already purchased, but this morning I put a nice dent in my Christmas gift-buying list, and I’m thrilled. Once again, I can’t wait to see how they like what I picked out, because knowing the people I’m buying for, these are things they want but in at least one case, would never think to ask for. This year, they didn’t have to ask. I knew.

I’m like that with Christmas presents. Years ago I saw an episode of “Frasier” where Frasier buys things for people he thinks they want, but he doesn’t know them well enough; what he’s really doing is buying things he wants them to have. I figured out early, I have to see things from the other person’s perspective and ask myself, “If I’m so-and-so, what would I really want?” Not everyone has that skill. It’s probably a hazard of being a writer, because if you can’t see from someone else’s POV, your stories are going to get really boring, really quick. (With apologies to the pros out there who write extensive story series starring one major character. You know who you are. I love you!) 🙂

As I proudly continued on my day, it occurred to me that yes, I have this talent, but not everyone does. Like my father before me, I’m also one of the hardest people to shop for. I don’t let on what I want. I love surprises, but how well do people know me that they know what I want? I still have the gift certificate to a spa day that I got on my birthday. Not that I don’t want it, but finding the time to use it hasn’t been the easiest thing in the world.

It’s hard to buy for me. I love surprises but they don’t always go well, and if I tell people what I want, I’ll get it but there’s no surprise in that. I’m just naturally set up to be disappointed, either way.

So if you’re planning to get me something for Christmas this year, what I really want this year is TIME. No, not the magazine. I want a day (or three) to do whatever I want. I want to spend a day playing with my yarn projects; organizing my pattern collection; putting my yarn stash in order, and maybe even cataloging it. I want to listen to music or read or watch football or old movies, or whatever, any way I see fit. That would make me happy.

So if anyone knows how to package up a day’s worth of time with a pretty red bow, that’s all I want for Christmas. Not my two front teeth, and not even 40″ Signature Needle Arts circulars in size 6 with the 6″ shafts and middy points (though those needles are damn sexy). I just want a day to relax and be myself with my family.

Chinese food for dinner wouldn’t hurt, either. 🙂

One thought on “In Case You Wanted to Get Me Something…

  1. Carla! You’ve been MIA lately, so I’m glad to see you here. 🙂 Time would be an awesome gift. I don’t think Husband realizes how much – don’t spend money on me; spend money taking the boys out to lunch and then a movie. BEST GIVE EVAH.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

