Bloodletting

No, this isn’t about Twilight, I promise. (I have to confess, I was a Twilight-hater until my BFF reminded me that people down-talk Twilight like they do romance fiction. I love romance fiction, so I stopped being a hater. I’m not converted, but I stopped sharing anti-Twilight pics on Facebook. That’s as good as you’re going to get from me.) 🙂

Bloodletting is the craft of releasing blood from the body in hopes of curing illness. Done right, I suppose it has its merits. Done wrong and, well, we won’t go there. I’ve undergone it, emotionally, over the last few weeks. It hurts like hell, let me tell you, but I think I’m healing.

When it’s done, life starts over again. I’ll be ready, and I’ll be stronger. I’m feeling stronger already. I’ve started running, and I love it. I can’t imagine my day without my half hour at the gym. Of course, it doesn’t hurt that at least one of the TVs will have ESPN on, and someone is *going* to be talking about Tim Tebow, who’s the mental model for the hero in my current WIP. When Tim’s on the screen, I’m running faster. It gets me nowhere, but it burns a nice batch of calories.

I really feel like I’m going to be a different person when this resolves. It wasn’t what I had in mind, but somewhere I heard, “A little revolution now and then is a good thing.” I think that’s what happened here. Better still, I’m going to find out things about myself I didn’t think I’d ever know.

Thanks, John. 🙂

Leave a Reply

