Miracle

I have a miniature version of the movie poster to “Miracle” tucked away on my desk at work, and every now and then I look at it and smile. Partly because I have a big, bad crush on Eddie Cahill, who played Jim Craig (and is a devoted Rangers fan), and partly because the tagline is, “If you believe in yourself, anything can happen.” It used to be I felt that sentence applied mostly to the writing component in my life, but lately it means more. 

I signed up for the Phillies 5K in March. Mind you, I only started to TRY running in September or October, but I found out I loved it and now I’m pushing myself to do more with it. It’s funny because I remember being in my 20’s and reading about varicose veins, and the article said you can combat them with exercise. I told myself, when I turn 30, I’ll take up running. Well, I’m 14 years late but I finally got around to it, and I’m enjoying it a lot more than I expected to. If the day is dragging on, I tell myself, “Tonight’s my running night!” and I get through it. Like last night. 

With the encouragement of some friends, I’m also debating signing up for the Down n’ Dirty Mud Run in July. I’ve heard it’s a blast but I think I’ll see if I survive the Phillies 5K first. Really, 3.1 miles doesn’t seem like much at this point. Maybe in a few years, I’ll work up to marathons. Har de har har.  🙂 

I was invited to join a terrific “foodie”-type blog called Chicklets in the Kitchen, and my first post went up last Friday. It’s been fun! They wanted a vegetarian voice so here I am. I never thought I’d be the voice of vegetarianism. The challenge isn’t just writing the post; it’s in finding new and interesting recipes to share. Most of my dinner fare is thrown together after I make the boys their dinner. (Oh, how I love Market Day Kyoto Blend veggies, sprinkled with lemon! Actually, anything sprinkled with lemon works for me.) 

The only thing I haven’t done enough of lately is write, but given the stuff going on in my real life, it’s hard to think of romance as anything more than a marketing plan. At the bottom of the “Miracle” poster is one word, in all caps: BELIEVE. I want to; I really do. If “anything can happen”, maybe I’ll get there again some day.

2 thoughts on “Miracle

  1. Do you believe in miracles? YES!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

    We’re so glad you joined us on Chicklets, and I’m so proud of your newfound courage to make that 5K commitment. When you believe in yourself, anything can happen.

  2. You know, I watched that game, and the gold-medal game, on TV when it happened, and that’s where I first got bitten hard by the hockey bug. I kept an eye out for the 1980 players when some went pro, and then in high school I “discovered” the NY Rangers. (They’d been around a while, but when I found them, wow!) I’ve had a crush on Ron Duguay for nearly 30 years. He played in the Winter Classic alumni game this year and holy cow, he hasn’t changed. SIGH!

    A few years ago, on vacation we spent a few days in Lake Placid, and we got to walk around the arena where the game happened. I don’t think the goosebumps left me ’til an hour later. You can FEEL the energy in that place like it’s hockey’s version of Stonehenge. Nothing short of amazing.

    BTW, did you know the speed skating rink for the 1980 Lake Placid Olympics was outdoors? Very very cool!

Leave a Reply

