What I Can’t Do

I need instructions on posting YouTube videos on WordPress. Then I could rely on the “if a picture is worth a thousand words, a video is an epic novel” concept. Also because there are times that a song says it better than I ever could. If I could write a book like Diane Warren writes songs… <swoon> Leave it to songwriters to tell an entire story in 3 minutes. It takes me 80K words. That’s eighty pictures! ๐Ÿ™‚

Sadly, I remember posting my playlist a few weeks ago, and I forgot to include the hyperlinks, so all that sat here was words. Yawn. Maybe this time I’ll remember.

The new story I’m working on got started because I watched “A Smile as Big as the Moon” on Sunday night. I didn’t plan on watching it, but it was on while I was at the computer and I let it go. Nothing else going on, anyway. I was pleasantly surprised; it was really good, and I ended up watching the last hour. As the kids in the movie were working on a project, ELO’s “Mr. Blue Sky” played, and it perked me up a bit. I downloaded it before the song stopped playing because it caught my attention. Mentally I started working a story around it. So far I’m nearly 8K words into it and the song still clicks with me. Since then, I play it whenย I get in the car to go to work every morning. It helps.

The other day I had a nasty case of the blues, so I gave up trying to be strong and begged God to give me a sign that things would be all right. I started writing this story-in-progress the very next day, so I take that as a good sign. But I find signs in everything, including the fortune cookie I opened tonight that said, “Look around; happiness is trying to catch you.” I hope that means Pat Burrell will be behind me at the Phillies 5K next month, but this is me, not holding my breath.

Tonight my iPod played two songs with very strong meaning for me:ย  Kelly Clarkson’s “Behind These Hazel Eyes“, and Hot Chelle Rae’s “Bleed”. I’m sure I’ve mentioned “Bleed” before. The card written in the video, saying “Take the Risk” got my full attention the first time I saw it, but as a writer, the words “I bleed my heart out on this paper for you, so you can see what I can’t say” strikes to the core of who I am and what I’m trying to do.

I got lost in this one tonight. Give it a listen. I’m not telling who it is. Hear it for yourself.

Before I discovered Mr. Blue Sky, I listened to “The Sun Will Rise” to get myself motivated. If I’m on the treadmill, though, “What Doesn’t Kill You (Makes You Stronger)” is nothing short of brilliant on so many levels of my life that I’ve lost count. If that comes on when I’m on the elliptical, I could generate enough power to light Broadway. (For all of two minutes, likely.) I love every song on that CD with the exception of “Einstein”. Who wrote “Dumb plus dumb equals you”? I’ve felt that way about people too, but really? ๐Ÿ™‚

Problem being, I’ve heard all these songs 300 times in just the past week. (Seriously.) I need a new theme song. Ideas? Something with spark, full of positive energy. Something I can hear in my head when I get out of bed in the morning, and it makes me think, “I’m going to kick today’s ass!”

Let’s hear it. What inspires you to kick butt and take names? Oh, and before you suggest it, CeeLo’s “Forget You” is already in my playlist. It *ought* to be on everyone’s. ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “What I Can’t Do

  1. Beautiful U R by Deborah Cox

    I shared this song with a good friend when she was going through an awful divorce. She says it was her theme song that pulled her through.

    Dangerous by Kardinal Offishall and Breakin’ Dishes by Rihanna
    pretty much kick ass too.

    Go get’em!

Leave a Reply

