45

Tomorrow I turn 45. I’ll never lie about my age and I don’t plan to color my hair. I’m letting the grays grow out in honor of the women I know who never had the honor of seeing themselves go gray. I won’t go gentle into that good night, but I will grow old with grace.

But damn, does it bug me to think I’m middle aged. My life is more than half over, and what have I done with it? I don’t have an answer to that. I wish I could say I’ve done more, but I do know I don’t plan to waste the time I have left.

Make it a good one. Someone cares about you.

3 thoughts on “45

  1. Happy early birthday, Carla! And I agree with Abigail… every birthday is the start to a new year of you!

    Age is just a number. YOU define it, not the other way ’round. 🙂

  2. Thanks, guys! I’m trying not to feel old but my knee keeps reminding me. No surprise I’m taking the night off from the gym tomorrow. Also doesn’t help that I can’t stay awake past 10 on a Friday night when that used to be prime party night. Sigh. Hey, life goes in spirals, and I’m spiraling outward now. It’s my kids’ time in the center.

Leave a Reply

