Under Reconstruction

Apologies for being absent last week, but my PDJ (pesky day job) required I attend three straight days of “process improvement” meetings. It seems a misnomer to me to kill three days of productivity to work on improving my productivity, but maybe it falls under the same heading of “You have to spend money to make money.” Whatevs. I didn’t fall asleep in the conference room so I consider that a victory. Trust me, it wasn’t easy. I still can’t figure out how I got through four years of college, and I only ever dozed off in Philosophy class.

I’m debating some major changes to the blog. My life is undergoing renovation; maybe my blog should too. There’s also the question of whether social media has made the blog irrelevant, but I’m sticking with this. I’m going to need a website when the time comes, so here I’ll be.

But I know people who blog or maintain websites on themes. Given that I enjoy more than just one thing, I feel like my site should reflect that.

My first thought is on the title. I’m thinking “Knit & Run” for a title, since I love to do both, though I find it curious that one hobby involves sitting for long periods of time, and the other is quite the opposite. But then there’s writing, and autism issues, and life, and reading, and… But for now I think I’ll go with Knit & Run for a title.

That’s as far as I’ve gotten. I do plan to keep posting on Thursdays, though I’m doing this today because, well, the idea is fresh in my mind. These days, if I didn’t write it down, I’d forget it. Getting old is sad. πŸ™‚

Tomorrow I’ll post the pic of the mitts I just finished, and the story to go with them. They opened my eyes in more ways than one.

Maybe by tomorrow, you’ll be looking at a different blog. πŸ™‚

By the way, if anyone knows how to get rid of spammers, I’m welcoming ideas. I may have to delete my “Brotherly Love” post because when I logged in today, I found 28 morons had tried to sell me crap or convince me to click their link.

I. Don’t. Think. So.

3 thoughts on “Under Reconstruction

  1. I heart you, AG, in a purely platonic way, of course. Just sayin’. πŸ™‚ And I did consider knitting and using the stationary bike, but I was afraid the yarn would get caught in the pedals. For now it’s just for reading. If I tried to knit and run, I’d stab myself. The dangers of double pointed needles. πŸ™‚

  2. I think “Knit and Run” sounds great! If you find yourself expanding the scope of the blog, you can always come up with something else later on. I love to knit, too. My running has always been sporadic, but maybe you will inspire me to be more consistent. No pressure there though – believe me, I won’t be annoyed if you don’t! πŸ™‚

    My local RWA Chapter just had a presentation on social media and one of the things pointed out was that it is good to have a “home base” for your online presence. They said most readers will look for you on a website before they will look for you on Twitter or FB. And that you should use T and FB to drive your followers/friends to your website.

    And I’m with Abigail – I’ll read your blog no matter what you call it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

