Citius, Altius, Fortius

Are you *loving* the Olympics? Now that the kvetching about NBC’s way-too-many-commercials is fading (hello to the aptly named #NBCfail), watching the games is just a joy for me. I’m cheering on Oscar Pistorius and the US women’s gymnastics team and Missy Hamilton, and I even found myself glued to the Murray/Federer tennis match. I usually find tennis about as much fun as watching glue dry. Now I’m thinking I need to look up where I can go for lessons. Okay, granted, I was thinking about it before, but now I plan to do some homework.

I love the Olympic motto: Faster, Higher, Stronger. Especially Stronger. I never thought of myself as a strong person until I made the decision to run a half marathon. Now I’m amazed at what I can do. Last week I had to all but pry myself to the gym. I’d think, “Ugh, three miles. I don’t wanna.” Six months ago I’d be thinking, “Ugh, three miles. I don’t know if I can do that.”

Now not only do I know I can do three miles but three miles at 4.5 mph is barely an extra blip on my heart rate. I got up on Sunday deciding I needed to try for six. I really wanted to do 6.55 to see if I could run half a half marathon, even though I have 11 weeks to train for this. Instead I got to 5.5 and thought, “You’re done for the day. Don’t burn yourself out too early.” I compromised and stopped at the 6 mile mark. There’s always next week. (For the record, according to the RW Half Marathon Training chart for beginners, I was only supposed to do 4 at LSD, or Long Slow Distance. I flipped that one off pretty good.)

It’s been eight months today since my husband and I separated, and I didn’t crumble. I didn’t fall apart. I didn’t die. The world didn’t end. I’m still here. I’m stronger than I thought I was, and I know that now.

Come October 21st, the Runner’s World Half Marathon will never know what hit it. 🙂

One thought on “Citius, Altius, Fortius

  1. I, too, have been enjoying the Olympics. And now that track and field stuff has been on, I’ve been using the image of all those runner athletes as motivation whenever I want to stop running. Picturing their flat bellies has gotten me to over three miles at a time now. I’m targeting a 5k in the fall, and possibly a half marathon in the spring. I’d even consider joining you at the RW half marathon but I already have a conflict that weekend. Maybe next year!!

    I’m so proud of you and all the positive efforts you are making. You continue to be a wonderful inspiration and a beautiful person, inside and out. La La La!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

