Sticking to it

I’m determined to stick to my “resolutions” this year. I use the term loosely; I’d prefer “goals”, though I’m told a goal is a dream with a deadline, and I don’t respond well to pressure. Well, not usually. I dunno. It could go either way, really; I either knuckle down and get things done, or I blow it off because I figure in the grand scheme, it didn’t matter. Somehow I seem to know the difference on a subconscious level. (My Golden Heart entry hit the cyber-waves with 24 hours to spare.)

Anyway, my crit group (waves hi to my Lalala sisters!) asked for our 2013 goals, and since 2012 was mainly a bust from the beginning a recovery year, I didn’t bother. The goal was just to plow through it. This year, however, I’m back on my feet, and I’ve shared my goals with the group. Which is why I’m posting them here. Feel free to keep my feet to the fire.

1. Finish a new manuscript; 80K brand-spanking new words.
2. Polish “All or Nothing” and “Ready or Not” to the point where they’re ready to pitch without hesitation. AoN is almost there; RoN isn’t even close.
3. More agent/editor queries. Send one in January. If an R comes in, send another query out within a week.
4. Read at least one new book each month. You can’t be a writer if you don’t READ. Craft or fiction, my choice.
5. Try to write every day. If I don’t have time to write, at least jot down some plot notes. Don’t let the story go cold. (My biggest problem in 2012.)
6. Blog more. (Chicklets and mine) Learn to hit those deadlines.
7. Focus more on writing, less on dating. Men come and go, but the Muse vanishes if you don’t nurture it regularly.
8. Go to Atlanta for National.
 
Wow. That’s more than I expected when I sat down to write this.
 
Under “Personal Goals”, I want to lose 40 more pounds and cut my caffeine consumption in half. I also want to run one more race in 2013 than I did in 2012 (7) as cash allows. At least one race should be a half marathon. Run at two parks I’ve never been to before. Nothing like a change of scenery for inspiration! 
 
I should also add that my crafting goals include learning to use my drop spindle; clean out my stash; give away the yarn I’ve had for years but never quite found a project for; and work on just one project at a time. My experience with Christmas presents last year really helped me practice that.
Leave a Reply

