What Goes Around…

Race season seems to take a break during the summer. Understandably so. Last weekend I went out for a distance run at the park and ran out of steam halfway through. The humidity took something out of me and I just didn’t have enough gas left in the tank to keep running. It’s for that reason that I’m carefully watching the weather reports for Sunday’s Heroes’ Run. So far everything looks optimal.

I’m really looking forward to it. I’ve run three races with two friends, and those were fun, but this time is a little different. My friend Karen and I are going to be there, but she’s doing the 1 mile fun run and I’m doing the 5k, so we’re going to be each other’s cheering sections. At least, I hope we will; it occurs to me they might send off the 5k first, and then the fun run runners. My mental plan was that one race would run first, and the other would be waiting at the finish line. Now I’m starting to wonder if that’ll work out? Ughhhhh…

See, it occurred to me that so far this has been a rather lonely endeavor. Don’t get me wrong, I *love* races, and I’ll do them alone without blinking an eye, but most of the races I’ve been to, when it’s over, everyone else seems to go off with either their running partner or the people who were cheering them on from the sidelines. I haven’t had that experience yet. It was kind of lonely to finish the Broad Street Run, go through the finisher’s tent, grab some post-race refreshments and my bag, and go sit in the grass, recovering alone. So many other people ran, sweaty and exhausted, into the arms of someone they cared about (who apparently didn’t mind the sweat and stinkage), and then they walked off together, talking about what a great time they had. I’d like to have that happen.

I guess that’s why, in the current Work-In-Progress, the story ends with the heroine running into the hero’s arms. I hope some day that can be me, but for now, it gets to be her. 🙂

Anyway, racing season is back. I haven’t had a race since the Color Run in July, and now I have the 9/11 Heroes Run on Sunday; the Philly Rock ‘n Roll Half on the 15th, and the Variety Dash n’ Bash on the 28th. Then there’s the Runner’s World Half on 10/20, and once I get the registration in, the Alex’s Lemonade Lemon Run and the Vietnam Veteran’s Run at the Farm Park in November. Five more races to go this year. I look forward to each and every one. Well, okay, the RW Half scares me a little, but only because I’ve done those hills before, and I almost bonked. I still haven’t decided if I’ll bring the iPod to that one. My best runs seem to be “naked” (no GPS, no music), but thirteen point freaking one is a long time to have to keep mentally encouraging myself. Still, it worked when I ran 6 miles non-stop. But that was 6 miles, not 13.1. Big difference.

Heh. I loved the t-shirt I saw at Philadelphia Runner: “13.1: Because I’m only half crazy.” But the best one yet is the magnet on my bread maker:

running shoes

Leave a Reply

