Back to School!

School started here on Tuesday. Monday night I sadly crawled up to bed thinking, life as I know it is over. My pleasant, calm, easygoing work-at-home schedule went back to getting up at the butt-crack of dawn so the boys can be out the door at quarter to seven, I can be out by 7:30, and I spend hours and hours among…ugh…people. 😉 Really, it’s not a bad thing. It’s just that I seem to get more done on my own.

This isn’t necessarily a good thing, I’m finding out. Alex is working with the soccer team, and I got whacked upside the face with reality:  he doesn’t know how to be a team member. His schedule is off, and instead of going home and crashing in his room, he has MORE to do. I didn’t prepare him  adequately for this, but thank Heaven for his Coach; he’s not giving up on Alex just yet. More than that, I forgot a key principle to life in general:

Expect success, and you’ll get it.

I won’t forget this again. I’ll actually apply it to so many more facets in my life. Matter of fact, as I was kicking my own butt at the gym afterward, I thought, “If you don’t get what you wanted the first time, WORK HARDER.”

On a sad note, we lost a friend on Tuesday. Our cat Tilly hadn’t been well for a while but I thought we had a little longer. It wasn’t to be, and she passed away in John’s and my arms. I made it home just in time to brush her one last time—she loved being brushed—and to say goodbye. The basement just isn’t the same without her. There’s a space there where she’s missing. Likewise, there’s a space in my heart that will always be hers. She wasn’t the smartest cat ever, but she was sweet, and she had a difficult time in the world before John adopted her. I’m glad we could make those last thirteen years happy and safe for her.

Unfortunately, there were two other pet losses this week. My cousin’s cat Bella also passed on Tuesday, and my friend Valerie’s dog Ellie passed over the weekend. It’s a small comfort to think the three of them are rolling around together, in peace and love and no more pain, waiting for us at the Rainbow Bridge. Sleep well, Tilly. Stay warm in that golden sunshine.

Running-wise, I ran 7 practice miles on Sunday. I’ll run many more in the coming weeks. I’m seven weeks from the RW Half, and yesterday I read something that said once I’ve run 10 miles at a time, I’ll experience the sensation that I can do anything. Knowing that took me from “I’m not sure I can do this” to “I can’t wait to do this!” 🙂 Time to get running!!

One thought on “Back to School!

  1. Love that “expect success and you’ll get it” line. I hope you and Alex both adjust to the new schedules soon. Such transitions can be a difficult pain in the patootie. Not that you would know about that since it appears that you are running your patootie right off! Good for you on those 7 miles!!!! I’ve run 4 and a half on the treadmill, but I can’t seem to get past three outside with hills and stuff. But I’ll keep trying! 🙂

Leave a Reply

